Saturday, October 29, 2011

Testing, Pun-Two-Three

Is that not the most heart breaking thing you've ever seen?

Listening to Penny Lane by the Beatles, obviously (if you didn't already know that, go close your hand in a door)
Stressing over my stupid short story for Fiction Writing, and how I have absolutely 0.00 ideas for it. Help?!
    Alright someone out there obviously needs to take it upon themselves to yell at me when I don't write at least one post every week. Preferably on a Tuesday, but I will also take Thursdays if, say, I have a huge Statistics test on Tuesday that I'm freaking out and studying for and obviously can't manage a post because of. What? No of course I'm not making an excuse - what would give you that idea?
    In all seriousness, I had a slight panic attack right before that test. Heart racing, difficulty breathing, suddenly roasting hot, feelings of impending doom... It was horrible. And I studied hard for this one, which is not something I normally have to do, but the first test didn't end up so hot... *cough cough* So I did the study guides, and the worksheets, and went to the one study session that I could go to. I swear, I'm going to pass out from stress before Tuesday gets here (we get our tests back on Tuesday). If I make it out of this class with my sanity, it will be a miracle.
    On a positive note, get this. In my Tuesday/Thursday morning class at the dreadfully unbearable hour of 9:30 am (don't judge me - I'm not a morning person), we had a test last week. Let me preface this by telling you that I did next to no preparing for this test, only briefly skimmed the readings for the class, and hardly pay attention because I'm not awake yet (it's not that I'm not interested, I just have zero ability to focus on anything more than coffee and sometimes walking in a straight line in the mornings). Thing is, I'm really good at interpretation of quotes and what I'm reading in relation to the authors and their ideas. All the questions went all right, but I was kind of afraid I wasn't putting enough in my answers. And I may have started rambling about ancient Roman mythology and Irish legends in one because I didn't know what else to infer from the quote... I was afraid I'd not done well, so I let my friend Hayden look at it first and tell me if I wanted to see it.
    "Oh, you definitely don't want to see this," he said with a strained smile on his face. "We may as well just throw it away."
    Which meant I had to see it. I opened it and burst out laughing. 91.5. And the professor's note? Something to the effect of "you've obviously read the readings very carefully and thought hard about the writers' ideas. I'm impressed and can't wait to read more." Whoa, right? I guess I grasped more in my pre-coffee haze than I thought!!
    So here are some funny puns:
[From Hayden, in American Literature while we were discussing Walden by Thoreau]
  • [in reference to a bike trail he likes] "It's my favorite place to thoreau down."
[From Eeyore on The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh]
  • "It's not much of a tail, but I'm attached to it." I love Winnie the Pooh, I'll just tell you that right now. But especially Tigger. He's so awesome. I love when he's in the misty woods and Rabbit is trying to lose him, and you hear him going "Ha-looooo!!!" :)


   

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Ambiguity

Listening to On the Wing by Owl City. I cannot tell a lie; I love this guy. (That rhymed!) Seriously, though. He's a veritable vat of awesome-sauce.
A-pondering the fact that I DON'T HAVE STATS TODAY! Rejoice with me, people. 
    What's this??! Sarah's doing another post this week?? I know, the world is in a state of shock. It's madness. I just had the share this little story that happened on Tuesday. I just find it so amusing.
    So I was in American History class, sitting in my normal seat in the back of the room. It was the middle of class, and I was taking notes like a good little student. (Stop laughing, those of you who know me personally.) My professor was lecturing about the New Deal, and the super tall black guy who sits on my right leaned over and asked, "What's your ethnicity?"
    Now, this is not the first time Super Tall Dude has spoken to me. He randomly comments on stuff at least once a week, but the question caught me off-guard. I thought I heard, "What's your last name?" But I knew that couldn't be it, because he doesn't even know my first name, so why would he need to know my last name? So I said, "Huh?"
    "Your ethnicity," he repeated. "What's your ethnicity?"
    I was still kind of dumbfounded by his question, so I stuttered a bit, but managed: "Part German, and part Native American? A little Irish?"
    Keep in mind, this is all mid-lecture. During class. When the only other person talking is my professor. How he didn't ask us to leave, I have no idea. Super Tall Dude said, "I've been trying to figure it out all semester; you're so racially ambiguous!"
How is this racially ambiguous? ha ha
    I must have had a weird look on my face because he went on, explaining himself, "You have this dark undertone to your skin, so I thought maybe you were mixed or something." That made me laugh. Not because it's weird, but because I've been asked that before.
    I mean, in the summer, I actually get asked questions like this a lot: If I'm mixed, or Hispanic, or why on earth I'm so dark. But I've long lost my summer tan, so it was totally unexpected. Especially in the middle of a lecture in class. How bizarre is that?

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Puns for the Sharp...ie... Of Mind

from DuxRockmySox17 at iconator.com
Listening to the breeze outside.
Waiting for it to turn cold! C'mon, Georgia. Hurry it up!
P.S. Sorry about the post title. It was a stretch, I know.
    Today, I went to the chiropractor. Like I do every Tuesday. I also went to classes and took notes and stuff, but the chiropractor was the big thing for me today. I always feel so good on Tuesday nights. By the time we roll around to Monday again, I'm sore and not sleeping. I wish I could get adjusted every day, but my meager paycheck does not allow for that. Especially when I'm saving for a roughly $350 plane ticket in November to visit Corey! Sorry. I'm way excited. Also I'm going through Coco withdrawals because he's out in the field playing with bombs and stuff for the next week and can't use his phone.
    How much money do I have in my bank account, you ask? Oh, about a hundred. And part of that will be gone by Monday, because I have to feed myself at work on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Yay. Take all of my money, please. I mean, I could easily just make food for myself and not pay, like I know many other people there do, but I feel really guilty when I do that. I'm not a rule breaker. I'm a liar, but not a rule breaker. Don't ask my why; I have no answer.
    So. Sarah's super good at the whole "blog-on-time-every-week" thing, right? I know, I'm awful. But I'm trying! I really am! I have a pun today! (Yes, just "a" pun...)    
  •     On the wall in the commons was a poster advertising an Asian soup. It read: "What're you waiting pho?" Ha! Right? Because the soup is called pho? I laughed pretty hard. 
  •     Oh wait! I have another! Courtesy of Johnny! I was talking about this boy. I told Johnny, "He's autistic." And Johnny says, "So he likes to dwaw?" Get it? I'm not explaining this one. Just say it out loud. Ha ha. Oh, so funny. :)
    In case anyone wanted to know, I bought sharpie pens today, and I'm super psyched to use them.
I also have the purple and orange. Yay - Secondary colors!!
    I can't wait to take notes in Latin tomorrow evening!! I am so nerdy, I know. Does anyone else get excited about new office supplies?