Sunday, December 19, 2010

Christmas Gifting

Zoning out to O Holy Night by *N Sync
So tired my eyes are crossing
    Laugh all you want, folks, but listen to those harmonies - you have to admit that even a cappella *N Sync had it down. I am a nineties kid, what do you expect? Boy bands were the bomb dot com to me. 
    You know where it gets really good? A Christian boy band (e.g. Plus One, heard of them?). I have one CD which I just recently found (along with my Hilary Duff and Backstreet Boys Millennium CD, score!) and I couldn't help but take a listen. You know what I really loved about the boy bands of the nineties and 2000s? They had this fantastic fetish with the Spanish-sounding guitar, which I love. Seriously - listen to the Millennium CD, and you've got Spanish Eyes, for one, then on Black and Blue there's The Call. Plus One didn't miss that boat either, cause just on that one CD, the Promise, they've got Here in my Heart, which has a light Spanish influence, and God Is In This Place, which is very Spanish sounding, enough to make my heart melt. Then, get this, they took What Child Is This on their Christmas CD, and gave that a Spanish spin! Combine that with the gorgeously meshed vocals of a boy band and I'm in heaven. They even did an arrangement of Silent Night a cappella in the same manner as *N Sync's O Holy Night.  
    Okay, enough about my guilty pleasure of terrible nineties music. On to more important things. Like my now-clean room. Let me just include a quick before and after shot, here: 
Before




    and...
After



    And in case you're wondering, yes, my bed did move. It's still unmade, but that's because I was cold and covered up and got up just to show how clean my room is... Aside from the purse and my work shoes on the floor... and the laundry in my chair... You know what? I can see the improvement. ha ha.  
    The cat on the bed is A.J. He's a nut, who thinks he's a dog, and may possibly be gay. He just really loves guys. But that's okay... I mean, I don't support his decision, but I love him anyway. ha ha. Whatever. He's really weird anyways. He actually likes water. Tries to get in the shower with me. Weirdo. 
    So. Christmas is coming, and I've found that there really isn't anything I want or need for Christmas. I've been asked by family and friends what I would like as a Christmas gift, and I just can't think of anything. When I was a kid, I used to be thinking about what I wanted as soon as I got past my birthday, which is in February. I would already be on to my Christmas list as soon as my birthday gifts lost their luster. As I've grown older, obviously I don't want the newest Barbie or anything, and while techie toys like cameras and such may be neat, I don't really need or want one. I have a laptop, iPhone, so I don't need an iPod, a camera that may be five or so years old, but it works, and any other things like that I find are quite expensive and I feel bad asking for them. 
    My Grandmother ended up buying Finale Songwriter 2011 for me, which I was saving up for myself, but that was the only thing I could think to tell her, and she was more than happy to get it for me, even a month early so I've already gotten the hang of the keystrokes. The only big thing I asked my parents for, but didn't actually expect to get is a digital pen - the livescribe smartpen. When working on my books, or even stuff for school, the only way I can be creative is to write it by hand first and then retype it when I'm finished, which as you can imagine takes a ridiculous amount of time. With a digital pen, I can write it all out and then transfer it digitally to the computer, thus saving an extraordinary amount of time. It cost a fair amount of money as well, and I didn't think I'd actually get it, but my mom asked me to help her order it online, so now I know that I am. 
    What's weird to me is I actually feel a bit bad for asking for things for Christmas. From anyone, I mean, even when they ask me what I'd like. I feel guilty for admitting that I want something, and selfish when I have to think about what I'd like. I know it's ridiculous, and I'm asking the same questions to many of my friends and family. It's like pre-holiday regret. What kind of sense does that make?
    On a more positive note, we may get snow on Christmas! White Christmas - crossed off bucket list.

No comments:

Post a Comment