Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Just Another Ordinary Day

Listening to Ordinary Day by Vanessa Carlton - remember her? My sister Maggie and I are kind of on a Calrton Kick. (Side note, end of the music video for Pretty Baby? Creeptastic.)
Devouring Andes Mints like there's no tomorrow. 
    I know. You thought I'd be gone for good, didn't you? Well, I almost was. But I know y'all can't live without my semi-monthly brief life updates (catch the sarcasm there?).
    Lots of stuff has been going on - like COCO GETTING TO COME HOME TWO MONTHS EARLY. Yeah. That happened. And also school started, which has been coco-puffs coocoo. I only have four classes this semester, but one is a hybrid. And that hybrid happens to be for my first education class. Ew, right? (Speaking of, that's another thing Maggie's gotten me hooked on. I've started doing it in everyday conversations then cracking up.) My other classes are British Lit. beginnings to 1660, which I have with Moose if y'all remember me mentioning him once way back here (we're good buddies now, despite what either of us predicted initially), Econ, and Latin 2001. Yay, dead language.
    I did a good bit of shopping yesterday and hopefully my new order from e.l.f. will come in soon and I can share my experiences with them. In the meantime, check out these cute ankle-zip jeggings I got from AE.
Yay!

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Peachy

Listening to What A Girl Wants Soundtrack (Yeah, the Amanda Bynes movie. You know you loved it.)
Craving Chick-fil-a - what's  new?
    I know, I fell off the face of the earth. Again. I've been a bit busy. But on the bright side, when I have time, I've been working out with my bffl Suzie-cutes, and I even signed up for classes yesterday - right? I do have to meet with my adviser this coming Monday or Tuesday to officially change my major to English Ed, and hopefully get into one more class if he has mercy on my procrastinating soul, but aside from that I'm set up for a busy semester! I recently had some stuff done to my foot which put me out of the loop for a week or so, and had to get the same thing done again this past Monday, which was no fun, but with luck this will be the last time. In between those two incidents, of course, I got sick. But things are looking up!
   I was doing so well, you know, with the whole Wordy Wednesdays thing, but I've got something to make it up to you - a recipe! I know, right? The queen of Chick-fil-A in a kitchen? What is the world coming to? But it's really yummy and summery, and get this: healthy. Stop the presses! Sarah Jane is becoming a health nut! ... Well, not so much, but I'm trying to do better. So here you go: Homemade Peach Frozen Yogurt!

All you need (for one serving) is two peaches, a small container of vanilla Greek yogurt, sugar or sugar substitute (I prefer sugar because Splenda isn't really good for you at all and Stevia just doesn't cut it for me. Plus it's only a teaspoon. If I'm doing sugar I'm doing it right.), and vanilla extract. Plus, you know, a freezer and a blender/food processor.
The vanilla isn't in the photo because I had to go buy some. hee hee.
Step One: Peel both peaches.
(Or ask a grown-up to do it for you! Nick Jr. anyone?)
Step Two: Slice into thin wedges and freeze for an hour. (I promise the wait is worth it.)
Step Three: Put the peaches in your blender/food processor and blend a little to chop them up. You may have to let them thaw a tad to get them out of the bowl, or if you're lazy like me, microwave for twenty seconds.
Step Four: Add half the container of Greek yogurt, one teaspoon vanilla extract, and one teaspoon sugar.
Step Five: Blend until smooth. You may have to stop and stir periodically. Frozen peaches are stubborn little things. 
Step Six: Enjoy!
Super easy and super delicious! Plus it's not super unhealthy! And I'm sure it would be delicious with other fruits. Maybe like pineapple and mango? Yum!

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Double Word Thursday?

Listening to Britney Spears (it's gonna be a thing this summer...)
Eagerly awaiting my next order from e.l.f.!
    So, I realize I haven't posted in two weeks. For yesterday, my only excuse is that I sprained my wrist and typing is not fun. Last week... I know something was going on, I just can't remember what it was for the life of me. So to make it up to you - here's all of the wordiness I've missed!
     So the way I choose the words of the week is through my dictionary app on my iPhone, Olga. There's a word of the day each day and I look through them and choose one for each week. That or if I hear a really cool word I'll look it up and keep it in mind. Unsurprisingly, it was difficult to choose from all the awesome words but I went with:

[nok-tuh-LOO-suhnt] adj. visible during the short night of the summer.
So Sax would sit on the western sea cliff, rapt through the setting of the sun, then stay through the hour of twilight, watching the sky colors change as the sun’s shadow rose up, until all the sky was black; and then sometimes there would appear noctilucent clouds, thirty kilometers above the planet, broad streaks gleaming like abalone shells. Kim Stanley Robinson, Blue Mars
 
[sahr-dn-uh-PEYL-yuhn] adj. excessively luxurious.
Here, in this half-destroyed Tartar town, surrounded by steppes, he indulged himself in a Sardanapalian effulgence that beggared even his jassy Court. Simon Sebag Montefiore, Potemkin



The runners-up were pensée, imponderable, natch, mignon, and fantast.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Wordy Wednesdays: Bosh

Listening to Hercules (awesome movie)
    Today's word was slightly easier to choose - although apoplectic was a close second. The problem was that apoplectic seems like it's only used in very specific situations, and I like words that can be used more frequently than not.


(pronounced like it looks) n. absurd or foolish talk; nonsense.
You know perfectly well - and it is all bosh, too. Come, now, how do they proceed? 
Mark Twain, The Gilded Age



I feel like this word can be pretty handy. A lot better than calling b.s. on someone, if you know what I mean. ;) Like all that bosh about the zombie apocalypse?

Thursday, May 31, 2012

5 Things I'm Loving

Listening to Crazy by Britney Spears
Loving ALL THE THINGS (They probably have a meme for that already)
    So I realize I don't normally post listy-type posts. And I'm not saying that's good or bad - I really love all the listy posts from the blogs I follow - I'm just saying this is out of the ordinary for me. I just got this fabulous package from e.l.f. last night and had to share my loot.

So the first time I bought this, I looked at Guava, but I went with Natural. It has the color and opacity of a lipstick, but the lightweight feel of  gloss without being sticky at all. It goes on super smooth and feels great on. The problem was that Natural was pretty much nude, and at the time in January, I desperately needed color. I thought about Guava again, but it just seemed too coral-y, too bright for winter. These babies are only $3 a pop, so next time I ordered make-up a few weeks later, I got Rose. Unfortunately it turned out almost fuchsia, which on my mother and I (because of our weird undertones) just looks way wrong. I had to wait a bit to order more make-up because I got sick and my paychecks were small from missing work, but when I ordered again last week, I finally caved and got Guava, and I totally should have gotten it from the beginning. It's absolutely perfect. Thing is, though, with the right make-up, I can make the other two work, so I highly recommend this to anyone. 

I cannot believe the incredible deal this stuff is. First off, it's super cheap for how awesome it is - mineral foundation for only $5. I've bought the same stuff from many other cosmetic companies, and it's normally three or four times more than that price. Albeit the e.l.f. is only .1 oz. and the competitors are about twice that, but if I buy two of the e.l.f. foundations, it's still half the price of the competitors! They even have a set that has the same foundation here, and a foundation powder brush for the same price - only $5! Plus the coverage is perfect, and it blends so well. I'm in absolute love. How do you do it??

Thing #3: e.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadow in Elegant
 Now I've already told y'all how much I love this stuff. I even wrote a letter to it. But I still love it, so I thought I should just talk it up a little more. First off, it's only $3, for mineral eyeshadow, which is just awesome. e.l.f. is always having great sales on it, too. Because it's awesome, so why wouldn't they? I really love all the colors I have - which is almost half of the 28 shades - and I'm sure if I bought more, I'd love them, too. The color is so rich and eye-catching (see what I did there?). Just, please. Buy one and see for yourself. Elegant is a great champagne color, and Smoldering is a nice smokey gray with a little shimmer. They're probably my favorites and would look great with any eye color. 

Thing #4: Honey Mangoes
About four years ago I had the Summer of the Mango. Through a series of events involving a bicycle and the owner of an Asian restaurant near the square, my mom ended up with a huge box of mangoes. Like twenty-five of them. And I ate one every day for like about a month. I discovered that mangoes are the greatest things on earth (except for people who are allergic to them - I pity you folks). So this summer, mangoes are my thing. Specifically honey mangoes. Because I can't tell when the other ones are ripe since their colors are different. Me and honey mangoes - we get each other. They may be messy and sticky, and juicy, but I could eat eight in one sitting. I just can't afford to buy that many. 

Thing #5: Britney Spears (old school)
Blame my sister, Maggs. She's been listening to some serious B.Spears lately, and got me feeling it again. It happens every summer. Not Britney specifically, but old nineties stuff I used to listen to when I was a kid. *NSync, Backstreet Boys, you know what I'm talking about. Nineties Pop. I never had any Britney CDs, but that doesn't mean I didn't know every word to the vast majority of her songs. And may have wished my school would erupt into a music video of Baby One More Time. We already wore uniforms, we were halfway there. 

What are you guys feeling this summer?

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Wordy Wednesdays: Asperse

Listening to Outrageous by Britney Spears (judge me all you want)
About to go tan with Suzanne - that rhymed!

    It was slightly difficult to choose today's word. I was stuck between two equally awesome words - one which has almost no use except in insulting someone, which is always fun, and the other could be used more frequently but there are other words that have the same meaning. I ended up going with option two, just because it's easier to incorporate into everyday conversation.

 (uh-SPURS) v. to sprinkle; bespatter. to attack with false, malicious, and damaging charges or insinuations; slander.

    Let no man write my epitaph; for as no man knows my motives dares now vindicate them, let not prejudice or ignorance asperse them. 
James Joyce, Ulysses

In case anyone was curious, the runner up was the word varlet. Which sounds like harlot, so I liked it. :) 

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Wordy Wednesday!


Listening to Caminos Cruzados (Malaguena) by Oscar Aleman 
Excited about dinner at Jerebear's and my writing group tonight!
    I've decided to add a few new features to the blog to get it a little more centered. I figure, it's summer - I have time to do this now. Things need to be more focused, something I'm not exactly good at, but I'm working on it. So. Introducing...
    Every Wednesday, I'll look through the dictionary and find a cool word that is maybe a bit more obsolete, or just so big that it's seldom used, and feature it on the blog! I used to do this in seventh grade, but I had a "Word of the Month" that I found in my Thesaurus. I'd choose a cool word and use it as often as I could. The problem was, I got stuck on the word "flabbergasting" for like four months... I promise that won't happen here. 
    So without further ado, this week's word is: 

(bih-LEY-ber) v. to explain, worry about, or work more than is necessary. to assail persistently, as with scorn or ridicule. to beat vigorously; ply with heavy blows. (obsolete) to labor at.
    Neither of them possessed energy or wit to belabor me soundly; but they insulted me as coarsely as they could in their little way. Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

I'm Back!

http://www.pixar.com/shorts/ftb/images/chrs_left.jpg
from here
Listening to Clopin Clopant by Django Reinhardt. I'm learning to love this guy. Reminds me of the music from this Pixar short.
Contemplating what to make for dinner. Veggie Pizza? Chicken with goat cheese and lemon butter herb sauce? The possibilities are endless! Actually the possibilities sort of end there... I need to expand my cooking abilities.
    Hey, peeps! I'm back! I think life has officially calmed down enough for me to begin blogging semi-consistently again. Stop laughing. I'm going to get better at it. So, an update, yes?
     Finally reached the end of the semester, and got my grades back - two As, a B, and a C. I know, I'm not super happy about the C either, but the class was difficult, and I didn't enjoy it even though I worked hard for it, so I'll live with it. I'm pretty sure one of the Bs was borderline C, but my final project really made the difference in my grade. And the As were in my two favorite classes, so they were expected.
    Back in the last week of April, Coco was deployed. I'm not sure I'm allowed to say exactly where he is, but I'll just say middle east. I get to hear from him once a day if I'm lucky - a little facebook message if he can get access to the internet - and yes, it does suck. He could be there anywhere from seven to nine months. So if y'all could keep him in your prayers, that would be delightful.
    On Saturday night, my sister and I took my mom out to the Cheesecake Factory for Mother's Day. It's a tradition because Maggs and my mom love cheesecake. (My dad was out of state visiting his mother.) The dinner was absolutely delicious, as per usual, but I got the wrong dessert. I ordered the Chocolate Tower Truffle Cake, which is not in fact a cheesecake, but chocolate cake layered with chocolate mousse. I got it last year and only had three bites the first night then put it in the fridge at home, and by day two, everyone else in my family had eaten it for me. Even though they had their own cheesecakes to eat. So I didn't get to eat my own cake. This year, they gave me a truffle cheesecake instead. I hate cheesecake. So I didn't get to eat my cake this year either. Sadface.
    On a brighter note, I started a writing group with some friends this summer. We're meeting every other Wednesday to discuss what we're working on and critique each others' writing. Four of us are actually working on novels, and then the other one is doing short stories. For the sake of their privacy, I'll use the following nicknames: Kelly Kapowski, Moose, GI Bob, and This Friend. I'm pretty psyched about it. Finally letting people read the book I've been working on for the past four years - it's been four years now, guys!
    So yeah. Gonna be a fun summer. Gird your loins. Ha.

Friday, April 27, 2012

IT'S ALIVE!!!

Listening to the inside of my brain. It's quite loud in here.
Delaying getting up to use the restroom.
    I'm back! I'm so sorry I've been gone! I know all four of you must have been a wreck for the last two month, unable to go about your daily lives without my semi-weekly inspiring posts.
    Ha. That was funny. No but really, I am sorry I've been gone, you four lovely readers - and you random people in Germany (Whaddup?). The last two months have been totally insane on the school front as I've been busting my rump so I don't fail two of my classes. I'm still somewhat worried about them, but I'm working on it. I have one week - and Monday the 7th - to go before I'm rid of this horrible semester forever. I just have to survive and succeed. Wish me luck.
    Coco Bean came to visit at the beginning of April for two weeks, which was awesome, but it was for pre-deployment leave, which is not awesome.
Corey and I at a La Parilla. The beer's his; I don't drink.

He's gone overseas now, and I'm worried sick about him. But I'm planning on sending him some cool things in care packages, so that'll be good. I'm just gonna get through this last week and a day of school so I can move on to this summer!
    I'm planning on having a pretty awesome summer - my family's going on a cruise in July, and some friends from my fiction writing class and I started a writing group to help critique each others' work over the summer and keep ourselves writing, and I'm hoping to save up enough money to buy a ukulele at some point!
    So I'm gonna go retreat back in to my educational cave for the next week or so, but I wanted it to be known that I will be back! Wish me luck!

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Breaking Springily - And Punnily!

Listening to Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen (I had my doubts, but it's not bad)
Contemplating what to buy at the grocery store. Because I go there now. That's right.
    It's been forever, I know. I'm sorry people.  Lots of stuff has happened. Crazy, I'm telling you. Where do I even begin?
    Maybe with the fact that I'M NOW 21. What up? Funny story, though. My 21st birthday was nothing like the picture at the left. I didn't even drink at my birthday dinner. I did cry though. Why? It's beyond me. I think I was just a little overwhelmed. I did, however, eat a steak from New Zealand. Talk about one of the most delicious things that has ever graced my taste buds. Whoa. My dad made margaritas when I got home, and I watched this movie with my sister in the basement. I know. We're party animals.
    For my birthday, my parents gave me an alarm clock. Kidding. Well they did, but they also gave me a hundred bucks to buy a new bedspread since my old one was on its last thread (see what I did there - ha). My sister bought me some super cute vintage-y sunglasses from Target, as well as a huge 21 balloon (because balloons are awesome) and a cookie cake - my favorite!
    The next night, my awesome roommates threw me another mini birthday celebration. Miranda the Marvelous made me spaghetti and provided me with pink wine. She also gave me the book Peter Pan, because it's apparently life-changing. Allison the Amazing made me a double-layer cookie cake. That's a layer of cookie cake, a layer of icing, and another layer of cookie cake, and then icing on top. It was like cookie cake on steroids and I went into a diabetic coma just looking at it. It was incredible. And Haley the Extraordinary gave me a six pack of Reese's Big Cups, because they're the greatest thing on earth, and a Disney Princess coloring book. Then we watched Tangled, which is quickly becoming tied for first for my favorite Disney movie. Maybe even favorite movie ever.
    Then last Saturday, my Aunt Jen took my to a Boyce Avenue concert. I'd never heard of them, but it turns out they're pretty cool. Aunt Jen being herself, she took me to the concert, and we watched the two bands who opened for Boyce Avenue, then half of their songs, and she decided it was time to go. It was about 10:15, and we were both worn out, so she took me to the Varsity (Whaddyahave?) and then home. It was a good night. 
    As far as what Coco gave me... On official records, I don't know. But off the record. I totally know exactly what it is. Toms. Ballet flats. He asked which ones I liked. He asked my sister for my shoe size. The box - which I haven't opened yet and won't until he gets home at the beginning of April - is roughly shoebox-sized. They're Toms. I know it. I know it.
    I'm currently on Spring Break, and I have to begin research for a group project and write two microfiction stories before Sunday. But for right now, I'm pretty happy chilling in my footie pajamas and making a grocery list. 
    Oh, and here are a few puns:
  • If I were a dinosaur, guess what I'd be? A Thesaurus. Right? 
  • What did the bison say when his kid left for college? "Bye, son!" (from Haley)
  • At work, someone's change was 8.15. So I gave them the eight bucks first, then as I put the coins in her hand, I said, "I just nickled and dimed you." Ha!

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Movement and Letters to Inanimate Objects 2/8

This is in the Grand Floridian. Awesome!
Listening to Comfortable by John Mayer
Thinking about what to make for dinner (since that's my responsibility now that I've moved out)
    For those of you who skimmed over the little "listening to/thinking about" section - shame on you! - I've moved out! I'm living in a house forty-five minutes away from campus with three friends, and it's frickin awesome. Just sayin'. My room is small, and currently dominated by boxes and pieces of my bed.
    Why is my bed in pieces you ask? Because our local Ikea is moronic. They left out the majority of the pieces for my bed in the packages we got. For example: the very first piece we needed to make my bed? Long board with a crescent type cut out in the middle of one side? Missing. The first piece. Really? Also, the head and footboard. (I do have a separate headboard with storage in it that we bought and built separately; these are the back and front pieces of the platform.) How do you forget to put those in? We did finally get all the pieces, but my dad can't come help build it until Thursday - that is, tomorrow - so tonight is my last night sleeping on a mattress on the floor, and I couldn't be happier.
    Sidenote: my bed is the kind with drawers in it, because I don't have room for a dresser and bed and desk and bookshelf in my room. So we combined two. Well, I currently don't have a place for all my clothes, so I've been living out of boxes since Saturday. I feel like a hobo. I hobo who no longer lives with her parents, but a hobo nonetheless.
    Here are some letters!
Dear Ikea,
Get your crap together. Your level of disorganization is astounding. I was so angry upon finding yet another piece missing from my bed that I wanted to go to your store and jump on every neatly made bed you had on display. I wanted to put fingerprints on all the stainless steel stuff, and leave my food on the table in your little cafeteria. And leave my chair out for someone to trip on. And my cart in the middle of the parking deck. 
Dear Bertolli frozen dinner,
I really wish I had known I needed a pot to cook you in and that you weren't steam-in-the-bag. I was so dismayed upon finding out I couldn't have garlic shrimp and pasta for dinner on Monday. But those weren't tears. Really.
Dear e.l.f. mineral make-up,
You are the greatest make-up I have ever used in my life. I just got your mineral eyeshadow yesterday, and I am never going back. This love affair isn't going anywhere, so get used to it. It's gonna be a good forever. :)

Sincerely, 
Sarah Jane

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Things At Which I Am Pun-Skilled

from here
Chilling out to Waltz of the Snowflakes by Tchaikovsky, from the Nutcracker (Yes, I realize that it's no longer Christmas time, and that I'm also not "chilling" as the high today was about 65 degrees and it's January, and there isn't a snowflake in sight. Welcome to Georgia.)
Once again unable to sleep.
    Here's the deal, my little bloglets (I don't mean the diminutive form of "blog"... more of a cross of "blogger" and "Piglet." Don't judge me). I haven't gone to bed at a reasonable hour since last year. I don't mean that in a joking "it's only January, so it wasn't that long ago" way. I mean, for the past month I've laid staring up at my ceiling until 2:45-4 a.m., desperately longing to fall asleep and unable to do so. A month is a long time to survive on very little sleep, people. Yes, I have tried taking things like Benadryl and Advil P.M., and drinking herbal tea, and not doing things on my computer right before I want to sleep. For the most part, the most active thing I do before bed is read a book, and I know from the experience of falling asleep while reading in the past that this is not something that would keep me awake.
    Truth be told, I think it's stress. What I'm stressing over, I have no idea. My semester's going smoothly, work is fine, and the process of moving and getting to know my new roommates and Haley has been one of the most delightfully easy experiences ever. So why am I not sleeping? The answer remains illusive.
    So here I am, at two a.m. completely bushed, and not able to fall asleep. My solution? Blog! If this whole thing makes no sense, you now know why. Here are 5 things I'm not good at!
  1. Sleeping. We've been through this.
  2. Waking up on time. I feel this is sort of a cause and effect thing. I don't sleep, so I don't wake up. There you go.
  3. Being prepared for things, like class. I'm actually getting better at this one this semester - I've been prepared for most of my classes these last two weeks. Other than not having my books yet, but I had ordered them, they just hadn't arrived. Not my fault. :)
  4. Eating healthy. Another thing I'm improving on, but still not perfect. I eat healthily at work, and on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays. Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday need some help. I'm feeling some Chick-fil-A in my future. Bright side: the closest Chick-fil-A to my new house - which will henceforth be referred to as the SHAM-house* - is about ten to fifteen minutes away. Because I'm a lazy person, I'm hoping my laziness will override my love for Chick-fil-A. I know this is improbable, but here's hoping, right?
  5. Working out when I really should. Yeah, I know what those of you who know me are saying: "You don't need to work out - you're skinny!" So what? Skinny people are still unhealthy and can get sick because of weak  immune systems and poor diets. Trust me; I know from experience. Luckily, my favorite way I've ever worked out is ballet, and there's a perfect banister at the SHAM-house to use for barre work. I just have to get my lazy butt up to do it!
    After all that negative, here are a few things I am good at: Puns!
  • At work the other night, I made a dorky joke (when don't I?) and my co-worker Jessica said, "You are so corny." I replied, "What are you talking about? I'm a-maize-ing! Maize! Like corn? Corny?" Yeah, I probably didn't need to explain it, but I felt it necessary since she couldn't see me spelling "a-maize-ing" in my head as I spoke it. 
  • I met Johnny and his girlfriend - who is all kinds of awesome - for a late lunch on Friday, and Johnny, skinny white nerd that he is, made this hilarious pun: "I'm so g I'm almost h." I feel like someone might have made that joke before, but based solely on my obnoxious guffaw when I heard it, you'd think otherwise. 
  • On the same day, Johnny's girl Tori announced, "There's a hipster in the house!" So I said, "At least it's not a thigh-ster." Ha.
* Have you noticed I'm totally into asterisks right now? They're so freakin' fun! So, SHAM-house. It's from the initials of it's inhabitants: Sarah (Jane), Haley, Allison, Miranda. It was either SHAM or MASH. And we decided SHAM-house sounds like SHAM-WOW, so we liked that better.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Good Eats

VeggieTales? Yes!
Listening to This Boy by the Beatles. All-time favorite Beatles song. :)
Chilling in the Social Sciences building on campus.
    So I'm trying really hard to be healthy this year. Never mind that I had Chick-fil-A three (3) times last week. I'm starting now. After I finish eating this enormous sugar cookie... Seriously. I'm going to be good.
    A major problem I'm having with the whole eating healthy thing is that the options here on campus aren't quite stellar. I mean, if I eat in the commons I can have a salad, some hummus (hummus is yummus), or a wrap, but I don't really like eating alone in the commons, and that's what would happen on Mondays and Wednesdays. The other choices* for food on campus are either Chick-fil-A, or getting something at Jazzman's coffee in the Social Science building. So today I went with Jazzman's. I got a turkey club wrap, which was soggy (with what I'm not entirely sure) and a watered down fruit cup. After that dissatisfaction what choice did I have but to get a massive sugar cookie the size of my face with blue icing and sprinkles that was beckoning to me from the display case? None, that's what. I'd have taken a picture to show you just how irresistible this thing is was, but it's gone. It was gone as soon as I got it. And now I'm so full I look like I'm about to give birth to a food baby.
    Now, I have many ideas for healthy eating that I fully intend to implement when I move out and start buying my own groceries. Chick-fil-A is going to take the backseat and I'm going to make friends with nuts, fruits, and fresh veggies for snacks. I'm even going to start exercising somehow. I was thinking either taking some adult ballet classes (but since I've already taken eight years I'm not sure how much good a beginners' class will do me), or even some belly dancing classes. Something that involves dance and doesn't take place at a gym (they scare me). Aren't I such an inspiration? Ha.
    How is everyone else intending on getting healthier for the new year? Since I know so many peoples' new years resolutions are to lose weight and get in shape, let's hear your ideas!

*I say other choices as if they are the only two. They're not, they're just convenient because all my classes are right nearby, and although I'm going to be healthier, I'm not hauling myself all over campus to find something to eat.

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The Year The World Ends*

Listening to Can't Stand It by Nevershoutnever
Eating a mint crinkle cookie from work. Mmmm :) (added: 11:28) And a chocolate chip cookie.
    Sorry for the complete lack of blogness. I have no excuse except for the fact that Corey came home over the break and I practically lived at his house. And by practically I mean literally. Best Christmas ever. No lie.
    So I've got a lot of fun news, none of which directly affects you in any way (unless I know you personally, but it's still unlikely) which I will reveal to you... ... ... NOW!!!
  1. I'm moving out! Yay! Finally, right? Not sure if I've complained a whole lot here - probably not - but I am beyond ready to move out of my parents' house. I'll be twenty-one in February. It's time. 
  2. For Christmas, I received a keyboard! Yay! See, my mom teaches piano, and I've played my whole life, so I was super bummed about the fact that I wouldn't be able to play the piano when I moved out. Enter beautiful Casio keyboard with weighted keys and a pedal that emulates that of a real piano - not those awkward little box pedals that slide all over the place. Mom gets me. :)
  3. This may or may not come as a surprise, depending on how much any of you really looked into our friendship and how often he pops up in my posts** but Corey and I are now dating. I still kind of feel like Robin in the beginning of this episode (I relate everything in my life to How I Met Your Mother, unintentionally, of course), but I'm super happy. Bowl. What's better than dating your best friend, right? Bowl?
So I hope all of you have had a fabulous holiday and a great New Year! Let the merrymaking commence!

*I don't really believe the world's going to end. That's silly.
**See second sentence.