Monday, July 29, 2013

YA in the College Setting

Listening to nothing, but you'd better believe That Girl is playing on repeat in my head. Oh, JT...
Thinking about how daunting this semester is going to be.
    Before finalizing his plans for the semester, one of my professors did something that none of my other professors have done before. He did two things, actually. First, he sent the whole class a survey with about twenty books on it, asking us which we were most interested in reading. Secondly, almost every book on that list (it might have even been every book - I don't remember them all) was YA Lit.*
    Finally. Finally someone sees the significance of YA literature. Finally someone realizes that there is so much to be learned from these authors and their stories. Finally, y'all. There is hope for the future of YA. And I have to say I'm most excited that John Green's wonderful The Fault In Our Stars is on the list. I've been dying to read this book, but as an English/English Ed./Latin major, I really don't have time to read for pleasure during the semester. Oh, delight, someone's finally realized this book is worth studying in a class.
    Now I realize that so many educators have already seen the importance of these books, but not at my university. I've been reading the same books over and over for classes for the past nine years. I can't tell you how many times I've read Uncle Tom's Cabin (yes I can. Twice, and I didn't like it either time), and it's on yet another class's book list for this semester. At least one professor has finally realized that there is significance and import in contemporary YA authors' works that should be studied at a collegiate level. Studied, for that matter, so that it can be taught at a high school level.
    Thank God I have at least two classes I can look forward to this semester, because the other three will likely destroy me with the canon. (Get it? Lit pun. And you thought I was over those.)
Have any of your professors introduced YA into the college classroom?
 
______________________________________________________________________________
*Which is what I have always loved, read, and write.
**He was supposed to post the finalized book list today, and has not yet done so (it's nearly midnight), but I'm resting assured that most of the books on the list were books that I'd like to read.**

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Sweet and Simple

Listening to That Girl. JT. I cannot handle this song, y'all. I. Can't.
Missing Coco. I don't get to talk to him until Sunday. Suckfest.
    So, lately I've felt like doing something different here. As my interests have developed and evolved, I've started writing about different topics besides just reading and writing. I've decided I'm gonna do a little photo tutorial. I'm definitely not claiming to be a beauty expert, but I've been doing make-up since I was seven (I was in ballet and did my own make-up for recitals and performances), and I know enough to be able to give an example now. My everyday go-to look is quick and simple, and the overall result is natural and chic, the kind of "I didn't try too much for this" look. And I'm sharing it. With the internet.



    I start off with the Loreal RevitaLift Anti-Wrinkle and Firming Eye Cream (mouthful!) under my eyes for my atrocious circles and bags. I actually have no clue if it does anything, but I use it anyways. It just makes me feel better. Then I use my CVS brand 10% benzoyl peroxide Acne Treatment Gel on any blemishes. For a lighter everyday look I use Maybelline's Dream Fresh BB Cream in Light/Medium, applied with an e.l.f. Studio Stippling Brush. (For a more sweat-proof and smudge-proof foundation for work I use Revlon's Colorstay Foundation for Combination/Oily Skin in Sand Beige.) Then I use Maybelline's Instant Age Rewind Dark Spot Eraser in light on any blemishes and the Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in ivory under my eyes.

    Next, I move to my eyes. Instead of a primer, I've been loving Maybelline's 24 Hour Color Tattoo Metal in Barely Branded. I don't have super oily eyelids, so this stuff does the trick, but if you have excessive oiliness, I would suggest e.l.f.'s Mineral Eye Shadow Primer. It's only about three bucks and does the trick just as well as any Mac or NARS product, in my humble opinion. Like I mentioned in this favorites post, I've been loving the Physician's Formula Nude Classics Eye Shadow Palette. It has a wide selection of colors and is fairly idiot-proof in terms of all the colors looking good together. Lately, I've been using the peachy pink all over the lid, the cool taupe all over the crease and blended up to just below my brows (it's a pretty light shade so it doesn't look ridiculous blended that high) and then the darker steely grey directly in the crease and along the outer V. I highlight the brow bone and inner corner with the top iridescent white, and blend it onto the lid color from the inner corner so it's not so stark of a contrast.

    For powder, I just recently switched to Rimmel London's Stay Matte Pressed Powder in transparent (which was not intentional; I just wasn't paying attention when I bought it). I had been using Maybelline's Dream Matte Powder, but with the South's smothering humidity, it just wasn't getting the job done. I've only been using the Rimmel for a week or so, and I'm not disappointed yet, but the packaging is exceedingly frustrating. The lid just will not lock, and I know this is a universal problem. I used to use e.l.f.'s Studio Bronzer in Golden Bronze for bronzing and contouring but it has a good bit of shimmer in it, which reflects back on camera and sort of defeats the purpose of contouring. I went through quite a few brands to find a good matte bronzer, all of which were far too orange, and actually bought this Milani Face Powder in their second darkest shade Deep Amber. It's highly pigmented, which is great, and it's not orange. I use e.l.f.'s Studio Blush in Blushing Rose (pictured) or Candid Coral, or if I want something more golden pink, I go for Mary Kay's Mineral Cheek Color in Shy Blush. I still have e.l.f.'s Studio Bronzer in Golden Bronze and I use the lightest shade as a highlighter, across my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose, and on my cupid's bow (I accidently deleted that pic).

    To finish up, I love Maybelline's Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner in brown. I use an e.l.f. Essential Concealer Brush to apply it. I don't know why, but I like it way better than any eyeliner brush I've ever used. I don't know why I forgot to take a picture of it, but I use a Revlon Brow Fantasy in Dark Brown for my eye brows. I have a regular old e.l.f. eyelash curler, and I've been loving Maybelline's Mega Plush Volume Express. It gives a very naturally voluminous lash look, and I hate when lashes look too clumpy or spidery. Two coats of this stuff and I'm good to go. Then I just had to show y'all my adorable bow that I made today. I'm kind of obsessing over bows at the moment. 
    Let me know what you think of the change in post!
 
***DISCLAIMER*** I was not paid to recommend these products. I have about eight readers overall, so no one would pay me to talk about their stuff. These are all my opinions, and I bought all of this stuff myself. Except the bow. 'Cause I freaking made it, y'all. I know.***



Sunday, July 21, 2013

Five Faves and a Flop: July

Listening to Ingrid Michaelson "Are We There Yet?" and the rain outside.
Craving almonds and dried cranberries. Look at me. Being so healthy.

    So initially, this blog wasn't meant to be much about style, make-up, etc. Admittedly, when I started this blog, I didn't wear a lot of make-up. Concealer, powder, mascara. Eyeliner if I was feeling fancy. But last year when I moved out, and didn't have cable, I got into following a lot of people on YouTube, many of them being beauty vloggers. Make-up suddenly seemed more accessible and fun, and I developed a bit more in terms of my own personal style. So like it or not, these things are likely to stick around.* Also, I am aware that July is not yet over, but I already have things to write about!
    On that explanatory note, here are my Five Faves and a Flop




Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquers
(aka Apocalips) in Celestial, Big Bang, and Luna
Being the YouTube junkie that I am, I'd heard quite the buzz surrounding these products for absolutely months from countless beauty vloggers... from the U.K. They came out in the U.K. at the beginning of the year and took a full six months to make it across the pond. Which, personally, drove me nuts. Everyone was obsessing over these things and I couldn't get my little paws on them. I saw Celestial on Fleur, and right away I knew I would love that one. Then of course, I saw Zoe wearing Big Bang and about lost my marbles it was so adorable. So, after raving upon the purchase of Celestial, my mom went out and bought one for herself (I cannot for the life of me remember which one) and Big Bang for me. Then I went a little mental and bought two more - Luna, and Nude Eclipse. I swear I don't have a problem. (Forewarning, if I've convinced you to go get one, they're only available in Walgreens at the moment. Very reasonably priced too, only about $5!)





American Eagle Corset Skater Dress
I desperately wish I had a photo of this dress on. It is so cute I can't even handle it. And it has this adorable big bow in the back with a keyhole detail. (I couldn't find a photo of the back as it's no longer in stores.) I nabbed this little number just before the Fourth to pair with - you guessed it - bright red Rimmel lip lacquer. And red undies that no one else could see, but they just made me feel more patriotic, you know? I have a deep and abiding love for American Eagle and aerie, but everything is just so expensive.  I've taken to waiting until things go on clearance, then waiting for the clearance to go on sale. By way of these methods, this dress (originally $50) was reduced to $40, then $20! That's the way to go, yo!


Mossimo and Co. Braided Rose Gold Sandals
I didn't expect these to be anything special, really. I simply needed sandals because I typically wear mine until they're falling apart. I grabbed them because they're simple and felt comfortable on, and I felt like rose gold hadn't really made a big appearance yet, so they were a little different. But they just go with everything! I've been wearing them non-stop - even more than my rope gladiator sandals from two years ago that I had been obsessed with. I also happened to be wearing them the night Coco proposed, so there's a pleasant memory associated with them as well.





Perfect Scents an Impression of
Marc Jacobs Daisy
Alright, now I feel a little guilty posting this one, but it was just such a good deal, and I really do love it. CVS has released a bunch of "impressions" of high-end perfumes, like Clinique Happy, and Viva la Juicy, and (as you can see) Marc Jacobs Daisy. They're under three ounces (read: perfect for travel), cheap ($10), and accessible (read: I hate going to the mall for stuff, please don't make me go). Now, one of the companies got a little angry and filed a law suit about it. I don't know how everything panned out, but I now feel slightly guilty about my purchase. I know the scents aren't precisely exact, but they're close enough. I have to say, though, that I love the Daisy "Impression."


PaperMate Inkjoy Pens
I've been writing a lot recently. Physically writing, working on yet another revision of one of my novels. Who knows if it will come to anything, I'm just happy I'm writing again. Those of you who know me personally know my scary obsession with office supplies. I love paper, notebooks, pencils, staplers, and especially pens. I like actually watching the ink being soaked in by the paper when I write. Writing at the most basic level. I'm weird, and I'm not sorry. These pens have been awesome. I won't go into the details for risk of further distancing the few readers I have, but yeah. I like these pens, y'all.
And... The Flop. Wah-wahh...




Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquer
 in Nude Eclipse
It's really not the actual product that I dislike here. Honestly, it's just the color. And part of it I blame (in jest) on Zoe. You see, she has this beautiful porcelain complexion that almost any color compliments. She wore Nude Eclipse in one of her videos and it looked so chic and gorgeous. I thought, "I should like to look chic and gorgeous..." So I bought Nude Eclipse when I bought Luna. I am not porcelain. I am also not tan. I am a confusing and lonely somewhere in between with my weird yellowy undertones that wreak havoc with potential lipstick loves. Most unfortunately, Nude Eclipse on me is flesh. My flesh. When I wear this color, I have no lips. I have skin. It's just depressingly unattractive. I don't blame Rimmel, I don't really blame Zoe. I have no one to blame so it's just sad.

What have been your favorites this month?
 *N.B. I have not had anyone complain. But should anyone be thinking about doing so, I won't listen. 'Kaythanksbye.

Friday, July 5, 2013

LifeScouts: Parade!

Listening to Coco's Big Bang Theory over Skype
Looking forward to seeing him tomorrow!
    This seemed like the most logical LifeScouts post to do next, considering part of the story was told in the last one. I've actually been in three parades, though. One was the homecoming parade for my high school, which was the band's first real rehearsal marching together for the first time. The next was the Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade, which despite being really neat, and something cool I can tell people I was involved in, was one of the most miserable experiences in my life. I did see the Cheetah Girls (for those of you who even know who that is) on their float right in front of us, and that was cool, being fourteen and a Disney freak. The third was the Christmas parade in Atlanta, which was neat being back in my own state in a parade that was televised and important. But still cold and miserable. I know I must sound like an absolute spoiled brat - "I've been in three parades and I'm still complaining about it all!" - but it was a lot of hard work up to that point, a lot of stress and yelling and injuries, and then we were all awake at three a.m., in the sleet and frigid puddles (our shoes were not water proof, or cold-proof), walking for blocks and blocks and blocks. In my opinion, it wasn't entirely worth it.