Friday, May 3, 2013

Five Faves and a Flop

Still listening to nothing. Geek Squad said it'll be a hundred smackaroos to transfer everything from Lucille to Sulpicia (which is what I named my new computer) Poop. I am, however, currently obsessed with The 20/20 Experience, by my boy JT. Cannot. Stop. Listening.
Looking forward to vaca next week with Corey's fam!

   I promised y'all a post, and doggone it, I'm gonna give you one! So here are five favorites from the past few weeks, and one flop!

Photo from here.
Starbucks Cool Lime Refresher. These are probably not the best thing I could be drinking. They're the second most caffeinated drink at Starbucks according to my buddy Matt the Waiter. I refuse to look up anything else about them because I'm terrified they'll turn out to be awful for me. I am so obsessed with these that I found myself in the drive-thru last week ordering not a Venti, but a Trenta. That's absurd. But I sucked it down in about ten minutes flat then sat down and waited for the jitters to set in.

Photo from here.
Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Eye Palette in Classic Nude. I will say this may not be the most inexpensive drugstore brand, but I don't buy it unless I have a coupon. This palette runs for about eleven bucks, but the quality really is top notch and the packaging is super cute. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a mirror, so on-the-go really isn't an option. A lot of people say that the shimmer strips palettes are dupes for Urban Decay Naked palettes. I've never owned the Naked palettes so I don't know, but I can tell you that I bought this palette last week and I haven't stopped using it since!

Photo from here.
Sleek Mystique Fast Fixx Style Prep. My sister Maggs goes to Toni and Guy and she's amazing. She's the only person I've let touch my hair since the beginning of the year, and she's rocked everything she's done. About two weeks ago, she cut it off (it had been about halfway down my back). It's just barely brushing my collarbone now. She layered it and did the best job of anyone who's ever cut my hair (my hair isn't really thick, but I have a ton of it. It took her six hours for a cut and color). She made it a lot lighter than it has been, too. So she bought me this leave in conditioner spray to keep the color looking great. It's fast, easy to use, a great detangler, and smells really good, too.


Photo from here.
Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes. Some of you may be aware of my weird allergies. Most things I'm allergic to make me itch - penicillin, most contact solutions and lenses, shampoos, soaps, bananas and spinach (which make my mouth itch) - but I haven't had many issues with face soaps because all I've used is Cetaphil which is specifically for people with super sensitive skin. This is all well and good except that I'm the laziest person with sensitive skin ever. Too lazy to squirt soap out on a washcloth and wait for the water to warm up. I tried using some Neutrogena face wipes, and that was a horrible mistake. Hives. Everywhere. So when a beauty guru on YouTube mentioned these recently I jumped on it. They're a dream. Except not the scrubby ones. They hurt. 
Photo from here.
Spoiled by Wet n Wild in Did I Dye It Too Blonde? This fave could really be so much more broad. I'm really just obsessed with neon yellow right now. The neon trend as a whole is fun and all, but yellow has always been my favorite color; neon yellow just brings joy to my soul. As for the polish, I've been wearing it every few days. I may switch it out but I keep coming back to it. The name could be more clever - I've read better. But for like two bucks, you can't beat it. And I wouldn't wear it alone. Definitely use a white base coat, but once you do - whoo! Grab your shades, cause this might just shrivel your eyeballs right up!


Photo from here.
e.l.f. Baked Eye Shadow Palette in California. I know I already touched on my abysmal disappointment in this product here, but I just want you to know that it has deepened. I heard on a few beauty YouTube vids that reviewed this palette that they're better wet. I don't know if it was just me and I had a bad go of it, but water did nothing but worsen these shadows. Not only were they clumpy (weird for an eye shadow, right?), but they went on streaky and immediately creased up. Just a horrible, ugly, gloopy mess. Do. Not. Purchase.

Whatcha think? Have any experiences with or opinions on these products? Tell me in the comments!

No comments:

Post a Comment